Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 ... 37   Go Down

Author Topic: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D (Development thread)  (Read 130136 times)

0 Members and 6 Guests are viewing this topic.

adambegg

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 157
Re: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D: new v4 + ScreenShot MOD
« Reply #324 on: December 07, 2011, 04:19:42 PM »

I had the problem of extremely slow rendering as reported previously by adambegg. After some research I have found that nVidia OpenGL had a bug in the gl.CopyPixels() function. After updating the driver to the latest version the problem disappeared, rendering is fine in all modes.

Thanks for the info, I'll try this ASAP

adambegg
Logged

benitomuso

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • P.A.L.
Re: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D: new v4 + ScreenShot MOD
« Reply #325 on: December 08, 2011, 04:30:41 AM »

Oh man, you got me here...
I can't really remember all the details of many sites that I visited.

The nVidia OpenGL bug is rather obvious as it was fixed by the new drivers.

Info about using the gl.CopyTexImage2D() appears quite often. You may find something here:
http://www.koders.com/java/fidDAD2B2DC72C134C327CCD667898FC9BE0F185930.aspx
It should also be helpful if you look through the nVidia OpenGL manual, for instance from here:
http://developer.download.nvidia.com/opengl/specs/nvOpenGLspecs.pdf
and perhaps some advice from the OpenGL Foundation:
http://www.opengl.org/wiki/Common_Mistakes

I think, your code would benefit from including a test for the card vendor ID, and corresponding alternative functions as well as some basic error checking. It might result in cutting down on your support effort. In the end, what you need is one well working mode for ATI and one for nVidia.

Kumpel

P.S. On my video card the best working mode is B (2) - fast and stable with good colours, no trace of flicker.




Kumpel,
                   I was reading about this but it seems that glCopyTexImage2D() uses RAM memory buffers for the textures. If so, believe me that it will always be slower than glCopyPixels that operate transferring direct data from different buffers ni the video card, without disturbing the CPU nor your main memory controller, etc.

  Following your advice I looked for several resources speaking about the subject and you are wright that many say that glCopyPixels "can be" very slow, but from all my experience, at least with ATI cards / drivers, there is nothing faster and more efficient than copying between internal buffers only with the GPU.

  I will make some research.

  Regards,
                              Pablo

PD: Adambegg and other nVIDIA users, please report if the method suggested by Kumpel (basically updating the drivers to the latest) does the trick for you.
Logged

kumpel

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
Re: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D: new v4 + ScreenShot MOD
« Reply #326 on: December 08, 2011, 05:34:30 AM »

Pablo, keep on doing your good work!

I was demonstrating your mod to some friends this morning, and almost got my monitor wrecked as they tried to grab things that appeared to stick out of the screen. This technology has been around for a while, but to see it in a dynamic action in flight is quite a treat.

On the technical side, I think, you may be able to define an intermediate texture in one of the AUXn buffers. It might also be more efficient for video chips using an area of RAM as graphics memory.

Kumpel
Logged

cgagan

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5810
Re: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D: new v4 + ScreenShot MOD
« Reply #327 on: December 08, 2011, 02:48:44 PM »

Pic with the newest driver installed...
Logged

LuseKofte

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6938
Re: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D: new v4 + ScreenShot MOD
« Reply #328 on: December 08, 2011, 03:13:01 PM »

I got Nvidia GTX 480 twice in SLI I have no prob
Logged

cgagan

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5810
Re: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D: new v4 + ScreenShot MOD
« Reply #329 on: December 08, 2011, 03:26:22 PM »

Could you give ne your card's settings? (NVidia controller panel), Many thanks,  8)
Logged

cgagan

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5810
Re: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D: new v4 + ScreenShot MOD
« Reply #330 on: December 08, 2011, 03:39:41 PM »

That's the latest NVidiadriver (285.62)
Logged

LuseKofte

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6938
Re: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D: new v4 + ScreenShot MOD
« Reply #331 on: December 08, 2011, 04:16:15 PM »

Caan you give me yours, so I can compare, mine are in Norwegian so it would be difficult
Logged

adambegg

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 157
Re: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D: new v4 + ScreenShot MOD
« Reply #332 on: December 08, 2011, 08:48:14 PM »

PD: Adambegg and other nVIDIA users, please report if the method suggested by Kumpel (basically updating the drivers to the latest) does the trick for you.

Yes!  It worked!  All modes are behaving normally, although I have noticed that from cockpit view, only my aircraft is 3D (not scenery or other planes).  Is this normal?

Otherwise, everything works briliantly!
Logged

benitomuso

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • P.A.L.
Re: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D: new v4 + ScreenShot MOD
« Reply #333 on: December 08, 2011, 10:15:02 PM »

PD: Adambegg and other nVIDIA users, please report if the method suggested by Kumpel (basically updating the drivers to the latest) does the trick for you.

Yes!  It worked!  All modes are behaving normally, although I have noticed that from cockpit view, only my aircraft is 3D (not scenery or other planes).  Is this normal?

Otherwise, everything works briliantly!

Adambegg,
                         please read previous posts where I detailed this. You cannot see simultaneously near and distant objects with high stereo depth. If you see something which is close, the distant objects always will seem to you plain, because in comparison you see the two images for them one over the other.

  Regards,
                        Pablo
Logged

cgagan

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5810
Re: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D: new v4 + ScreenShot MOD
« Reply #334 on: December 08, 2011, 11:08:49 PM »

Caan you give me yours, so I can compare, mine are in Norwegian so it would be difficult
I am sorry, mine's is in Greek; my english may be good, but when it comes to technical terms... Thanks anyway,
Logged

Herra Tohtori

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 671
Re: A new era has come! Stereoscopic 3D (Development thread)
« Reply #335 on: December 18, 2011, 11:30:41 AM »

Hi, I'm having a bit of a problem getting the mod to actually do anything. Specifically, I can't seem to figure out how to activate it correctly so that it actually, well, activates.

I read through all the 29 pages and it seems to me that this is related to having a correct version of il2fb.exe (TrackIR 6DOF modified) in IL-2 root directory while having the 00_PAL-Stereo3D mod activated, but with no other 6DOF mod activated.

The way I've been trying to get this to work is this:

1. copied my unmodded 4.10.1 installation to ../IL2_3DTEST/
2. install HSFX on that directory
3. Activate HSFX history mod (5.0.1) via JSGME
4. Copy the il2fb.exe (228 KB, modified 13.4.2010 1:38) from ..\IL-2_3DTEST\jsgmemods\6DOF_Tracker_2_0_sHr\il2fb.exe to ..\IL-2_3DTEST\
5. Activate 00_PAL-Stereo3D mod via JSGME.

This results in, seemingly, nothing except regular HSFX with no 6DOF head tracking, nor anaglyph stereo, and mouse buttons+wheel don't seem to change any parametres, which leads me to conclude that the mod simply is not active.

The only thing I can think of is that I perhaps need some different, specific il2fb.exe than the one that comes with the 6DOF mod embedded in HSFX (6DOF_Tracker_2_0_sHr).

I have tried different configurations, but nothing seems to actually activate the 3D mod (although some configurations result in loading error at 95% in program start).

I couldn't find anyone having expressed a problem quite like this - people seem to have gotten the mod running quite fine. I can usually find my way around modding games, but this problem vexes me; the only relevant part in the conversation was about the 6DOF TIR modded il2fb.exe, which I am unsure if I have a right version of.

Some help would be appreciated.

EDIT: I found a solution - I had to drop the 3D mod into MODS directory of my mainline HSFX installation (not the 3D test installation), which I thankfully have due to using SAS ModAct in side of HSFX, but I should point out that most people using HSFX probably don't have it, don't know to even think of it, and JSGME didn't seem to work for activating this mod for some reason.

I don't know if I was doing something wrong with JSGME, or if the mod is simply incompatible with it, but maybe a slight revision on the readme.pdf would be required if the latter is true, since the PDF specifically mentions JSGME as a way to activate the mod.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 ... 37   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.045 seconds with 26 queries.