Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: F-18 BAT Debugging  (Read 7682 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PhantomII

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 386
Re: F-18 BAT Debugging
« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2017, 09:06:01 AM »

Hey Mike thanks for engine mod tip. The original one in BAT works for me too even with my chocks mod enabled.
Logged

western0221

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6790
  • Live in Japan
    • IL-2 itaki blog
Re: F-18 BAT Debugging
« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2017, 12:32:47 PM »

Hi, Mike.

Please tell me your feeling about emergency priority about these things.
I'll proceed them in your order.
 1. This F/A-18 problem.
 2. Engine MOD 2.7.1w's catapult backward compatibility recover.
 3. Some other projects or released mods' bugfix of mine.

Only I can do now is debugging , developing mods as individual styles.
How composing it into BAT or how already composed in BAT are out of my capacity.
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23996
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: F-18 BAT Debugging
« Reply #14 on: January 09, 2017, 12:25:04 AM »

Hi western,

BAT uses these mods as-is, it's the latest Engine MOD 2.7.1w and the latest Marine Aviation Pack which is inside BAT, with no further modifications.
Since the F-18 issue is an Engine Mod issue and the Engine Mod is the base of many other Jet Age related mods, I'd focus on that first.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23996
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: F-18 BAT Debugging
« Reply #15 on: January 09, 2017, 12:43:58 AM »

*bump*

Wanna have more confusion added to this issue?

What I know so far:
BAT ("original") with or without Expansion Pack 1 = F-18 works.
BAT Expansion Pack 2 or later = F-18 doesn't work.
BAT Expansion Pack 2 or later, with Engine Mod folder from CUP or from BAT part 26 = F-18 works.

This indicates that the issue is Engine Mod related.
I've tested this on two PCs @home, one is my gaming rig (Core i5 2500K, Nvidia GTX-970, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit), the other is my wife's laptop (Pentium 2020M, Intel HD graphics, 6GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 Bit). Both show the very same issue as reported in the opening post of this thread.

Now comes the surprise:
The BAT installation I've used for testing resides on an external USB HDD, that way I could use it to easily perform the comparative tests between the two systems @home.
Today I took that disk with me to the office, plugged it to my dev PC (Core i7-920, Nvidia GT-740, 12GM RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit), and - tada! - IT WORKS!
Go figure!
The very same game from the very same disk in unchanged condition, not working @home an hour ago, works flawlessly on my work PC.

This explains why I'm quite alone with my issues, yet it doesn't explain where exactly they come from.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1537
Re: F-18 BAT Debugging
« Reply #16 on: January 09, 2017, 03:16:44 AM »

Windows?

I have had several strange issues with software since I started using windows 10 on my gaming rig.

One of the things it may be is an unassigned variable.

So you do something like .....

Code: [Select]
class Blah
{
   int counter;

  public void Update(float timestep)
  {
       counter++;
  }
};

The initial value of counter is undefined, but on windows 7 it is normally 0. On windows 10 it seems to allways be undefined.

I don't know if there is a static code analysis tool available for java, but if it was C++ I would be doing a scan right now.
 
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23996
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: F-18 BAT Debugging
« Reply #17 on: January 09, 2017, 03:40:18 AM »

Windows?
Yes, maybe.
Java is different to C++ though.
If it was C++, I would agree that such side effects could exist.
In Java however, regardless the underlying operating system, we're always running the same Java VM while playing IL-2, therefore such things like initializing variables won't change between OS versions.
I'd rather suspect something going on within the native layers and the issue being caused by the F-18 stretching the boundaries of our game a tad too far, particularly in conjunction with the new Engine Mod from BAT Expansion Pack 2, where a whole bunch of code and class layout changes have been implemented.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.

SAS~Monty27

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3852
  • Action and Adventure!
    • SPEEDMACHINE
Re: F-18 BAT Debugging
« Reply #18 on: January 09, 2017, 03:57:22 AM »

So for those with this fairly rare error a retrofit of SASEngineMOD, pre BATEP02, does the trick.  I can prepare a retro 'tune-up' package as an option.
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23996
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: F-18 BAT Debugging
« Reply #19 on: January 09, 2017, 12:01:41 PM »

No need to, at least not because of this issue.



Remove the line "PALDebugFM=1" from "[Mods]" section of conf.ini and the F-18 is your friend again.
Unbelievable...
Biggest issues, easiest solutions.
You only have to stumble upon ;)

Case closed as much as I'm concerned.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.

edc1

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 222
Re: F-18 BAT Debugging
« Reply #20 on: January 09, 2017, 12:48:41 PM »

Hi Mike,
Just to inform you that I have 2 computer systems ,one is a lap top T6600 processor the
other is a desktop intel I7 processor
Both are dual boot systems windows 10 64bit  and windows 7 64 bit.
I could not get this aircraft to show up on any of the systems and also had
error problems with some maps would not load. (such as crete jet map)
So I loaded the second set of dills and low and behold both plane and map problems
went away.
I then reloaded the first set of dills and the problems came back
Hope this dosent muddy the water too much
Cheers edc1 (stan)
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23996
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: F-18 BAT Debugging
« Reply #21 on: January 09, 2017, 10:26:24 PM »

Hi Stan,

Thanks for the feedback.
The fact that some computer systems need DLLs from set 1 and others need them from set 2 is well known.
On my "critical" system for instance set 1 doesn't let me load HD planes like the F-18 at all, I can't even get into the arming screen in QMB.
Others have no luck with set 2, that's why both have been provided so everyone can pick the set that fits his system.

This however is unrelated with the issue described here.
I have yet to confirm with two other systems which were working before, but I won't be surprised to see them crashing too once I add that "PALDebugFM=1" to the conf.ini "[Mods]" section.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23996
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: F-18 BAT Debugging
« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2017, 01:43:29 AM »

I have yet to confirm with two other systems which were working before, but I won't be surprised to see them crashing too once I add that "PALDebugFM=1" to the conf.ini "[Mods]" section.
Confirmed.
Adding that line to your conf.ini turns a working F-18 to a non-working one.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.

western0221

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6790
  • Live in Japan
    • IL-2 itaki blog
Re: F-18 BAT Debugging
« Reply #23 on: January 13, 2017, 06:06:49 PM »

About F/A-18 and Engine MOD in my side:
- F/A-18 class Out of bounce crashing --- fixed .... https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,52496.0.html
- Engine MOD catapult backward compatibility --- fixed .... https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,52489.0.html


How about Mike's 1st post - 2nd problem (standard texture mapping error) ?
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.045 seconds with 28 queries.