Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Chieftain mk.3 / mk.5  (Read 9033 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Mission_bug

  • Modder
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6090
Re: Chieftian mk.3 / mk.5
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2017, 04:28:50 AM »

Hello NS_Koty, this is the way I set up a typical vehicle with a turret using a hier:

Code: [Select]
[_ROOT_]
VisibilitySphere 3.08835
CollisionObject sphere 3.06028 0.0 0.0 0.0
[Body]
Mesh Body
Parent _ROOT_
Attaching 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 0.0 0.0 0.0
CollisionObject Body

[Head]
Mesh Head
Parent Body
Attaching 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 0.52 0.10 1.50
CollisionObject Head

[Gun]
Mesh Gun
Parent Head
Attaching 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 1.50 -0.08 0.42
CollisionObject Body


The head and the gun I usually centre in the 3D programme before I extract them and then use the hier to put them in position, that way the turret will rotate around its centre pivot and likewise the gun wil move up and down around a set point.

Shadows I add to Body, Head and gun. The turret rotation means there really should be a shadow on the gun barrel but the shadow on aturret is not always obvious when viewed in game as the main shadow seems to predominate.

I think each part should have a hitbox but you can I think get away with just one attached to the main body but covering the area taken by each part.

I never actually added Lods in the vehicles I got mobile but they should be added I guess for completness.


Have a look through this pack I put together:

https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,51617.0.html


Hope this helps.

Wishing you all the very best, Pete. ;D
Logged

western0221

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6790
  • Live in Japan
    • IL-2 itaki blog
Re: Chieftian mk.3 / mk.5
« Reply #13 on: February 04, 2017, 04:39:43 AM »

How link objects in 3D modeler may depend on using what exporter.

Maratz exporter uses those link information for only hier.him parent - child relationship. LODs and shadows' links for the main LOD0 main object is free. Flat one generation children way is OK, another child - grandson way is also OK.

Buggy buggy exporter may use another rule. I don't know about it.
Waiting Buggy buggy users.
Logged

Koty

  • Mr. MiG
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2283
  • It's a MiG!
Re: Chieftain mk.3 / mk.5
« Reply #14 on: December 16, 2017, 03:21:44 PM »

So, I decided to finish it on my own, could someone move thos to wip please?
Logged
public static void main (String[] args){}

Koty

  • Mr. MiG
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2283
  • It's a MiG!
Re: Chieftain mk.3 / mk.5
« Reply #15 on: December 17, 2017, 06:59:53 AM »

Soo... main part of the tank exported.

I however fear that the texture is mapped mirrored... but with how complex the mapping is, too late to try to change it. Unless there is some magic quick-button that will mirror it automatically.

I'll try and code it. I just hope this will come out well... ^^;


Also thanks for moving the thread.
Logged
public static void main (String[] args){}

Koty

  • Mr. MiG
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2283
  • It's a MiG!
Re: Chieftain mk.3 / mk.5
« Reply #16 on: December 17, 2017, 10:47:36 AM »

You couldn't describe how happy I am right now.




Tracks and other accessories will follow soon.
Logged
public static void main (String[] args){}

Koty

  • Mr. MiG
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2283
  • It's a MiG!
Re: Chieftain mk.3 / mk.5
« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2017, 10:59:43 AM »

Polycount is too high, bugs out the game when firing at LOD0 - and game goes fubar when a tank gets destroyed.

I am not sure if this could be solved by exporting each pair of wheels separately, or if I should simply skip a whole LOD.



EDIT: And the reason why - the 2.9k polycount for wheels was the whole polygons. Completely forgot that .msh is made of triangles. Oh well. I'll first try to make separate pairs of wheels, then, if that does not work, skip a LOD0.
Logged
public static void main (String[] args){}

western0221

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6790
  • Live in Japan
    • IL-2 itaki blog
Re: Chieftain mk.3 / mk.5
« Reply #18 on: December 17, 2017, 11:26:53 AM »

Separating wheels like ( Left and Right ) or (L123, L456, R123 and R456) will solve the problem.

But it hears too much detailed for IL-2 1946's ground units.
Logged

Mission_bug

  • Modder
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6090
Re: Chieftain mk.3 / mk.5
« Reply #19 on: December 17, 2017, 11:35:05 AM »

Now that is what I call a tank, superb. 8)

If you open your mesh in your 3D programme you can usually unwrap it, then select the necessary vertices you think are mapped wrong and flip them to get them in the correct place. 

I found getting the thing mapped to begin with is the worse thing, once that is done you can mend any bad issues by moving things about. :D


Should look good in the city scheme they used in Berlin. ;)


Wishing you all the very best, Pete. ;D
Logged

Koty

  • Mr. MiG
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2283
  • It's a MiG!
Re: Chieftain mk.3 / mk.5
« Reply #20 on: December 17, 2017, 03:41:17 PM »

OK, separating wheels did the job.

Now it is both detailed and working.

Now I have to add a tracer to the gun.


;) anyone knows how to force double sided material?
Logged
public static void main (String[] args){}

Koty

  • Mr. MiG
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2283
  • It's a MiG!
Re: Chieftain mk.3 / mk.5
« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2017, 04:44:52 PM »

Turns out I am unable to set a tracer for the gun.
This would have been a really cool thing, it makes me sad...
Logged
public static void main (String[] args){}

Koty

  • Mr. MiG
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2283
  • It's a MiG!
Re: Chieftain mk.3 / mk.5
« Reply #22 on: December 22, 2017, 12:38:24 PM »




link to the version 0 will be in the opening post
Now only mk.3
Other marks, country-specific camouflages and other things will follow soon. First I'll need to separate smoothing groups however and fix some mapping issues on the turret.
Logged
public static void main (String[] args){}

Mission_bug

  • Modder
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6090
Re: Chieftain mk.3 / mk.5
« Reply #23 on: December 24, 2017, 12:25:23 PM »

Excellent work NS_Koty, thank you very much, really appreciated. 8)


Wishing you all the very best, Pete. ;D
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.031 seconds with 24 queries.